Pinoy Indie Films Win Big at FAMAS Awards 2019

Big winner Direk Dwein Baltazar’s “Gusto Kita With All My Hypothalamus” bagging Best Picture, Director and Scrreenplay.

The 67th FAMAS Filipino Academy of Movie Arts and Science Awards Night went on smoothly and with style at the Meralco Theater last April 28, 2019.

Winning high and big was Cine Filipino independent film finalist “Gusto Kita With All My Hypothalamus” for Best Picture including Best Director and Best in Screenplay for Dwein Baltazar.

Best Actor Eddie Garcia for his disturbing portrayal in “ML” aka Martial Law movie. He shared the same honor with Victor Neri of “A Short History of a Few Bad Things.”

Best Actress went to Nadine Lustre for her exceptional portrayal in  “Never Not Love You.” Her first FAMAS!


  • Best Picture: Gusto Kita With All My Hypothalamus
  • Grand Jury Prize for Film: Ang Panahon ng Halimaw and Never Tear Us Apart a.k.a. Fisting
  • Best Director: Dwein Baltazar (Gusto Kita With All My Hypothalamus)
  • Best Actress: Nadine Lustre (Never Not Love You)
  • Best Actor: Eddie Garcia (ML), Victor Neri (A Short History of A Few Bad Things)
  • Best Supporting Actress: Adrienne Vergara (Dog Days)
  • Best Supporting Actor: Joem Bascon (Double Twisting Double Back)
  • Best Original Song: “Buhay Teatro” for Paglisan (Music by Teresa Barrozo, Lyrics by Christela Marquez, Aica Ganhinhin, Carl Papa and Erika Estacio)
  • Best Musical Score: Erwin Romullo, Malek Lopez and Juan Miguel Sobrepeña (Never Tear Us Apart a.k.a. Fisting)
  • Best Adapted Screenplay: Charlson Ong, Choy Pangilinan, Mao Portus, Juan Carlos Tarobal for Tanabata’s Wife (based on the short story of the same title by Sinai Hamada)
  • Best Cinematography: Neil Daza (Oda sa Wala)
  • Best Editing: Lawrence Ang (Kung Paano Siya Nawala), Hiyas Baldemor Bagabaldo (Pag-ukit sa Paniniwala)
  • Best Production Design: Maolen Fadul (Oda Sa Wala)
  • Best Short Film: Siyudad sa Bulawan (City of Gold), Jarell Serencio
  • Best Documentary: All Grown Up (Wen Sanchez)
  • Grand Jury Prize for a Short Film: Balai (Home), Klarisse Purugganan
  • FAMAS Lifetime Achievement Awardees: Marilou Diaz-Abaya, Laurice Guillen, Charo Santos-Concio
  • German Moreno Youth Achievement Awardees: Bianca Umali, Maymay Entrata
  • Jose R. Perez Memorial Award: Ally Sotto
  • FPJ Memorial Award: Anne Curtis
  • Dolphy Memorial Award:  Maricel SorianoJoem Bascon gratefully took home the FAMAS trophy as Best Supporting Actor in “Double Twisting Double Back”Anne Curtis as FPJ Memorial Award recipient

Lifetime Achievement Awardees: Marilou Diaz Abaya, Laurice Guillen, and Charo Santos-Concio

It was also noticeable that most of the major film awardees came from various independent film festivals including Cine Filipino, QCinema, Cinema One, Cinemalaya, and ToFarm among many others.

Congratulations to the FAMAS organizing team and all its sponsors.

Mabuhay ang Pelikulang Pilipino!