Brandon Retains World Title; Team Lakay Wins Big in ONE Conquest of Champions

Just in case you missed it, ONE athlete, Brandon “The Truth” Vera retains his world title belt as heavyweight champion when he faced contender Italian Mauro Cerilli in less than 2 minutes of their First Round in the jampacked Mall Of Asia Arena last November 23. The rest of the billions of viewers of ONE Championship through live telecast and streaming also witnessed how Brandon took down his opponent via KO.

During the post-fight interview Brandon said,  “I was pretty surprised. So I’m glad I got that left hook in and dropped him with it. In the world of martial arts, the Philippines owns five world titles. We can do this. Continue your support. Let’s get all the belts!”

In great and shape and fighting form, Team Lakay’s revered member Eduard “The Landslide” Folayang got his Lightweight Division belt back and did not disappoint as he displayed seasoned mixed martial arts hits to younger athlete Amir Khan of Singapore who both fought to the end of Round 5.  Folayang once held the title until Martin Nguyen took him down in their last match on November 10, 2017 at ONE: Legends of the World.

Former ONE Featherweight World Champion Honorio “The Rock” Banario who was also favored to win, overcame a game effort from challenger Rahul “The Kerala Krusher” Raju of Singapore to win by unanimous decision after three rounds. Banario dominated Raju in striking exchanges while also threatening with submissions in the first round.

ONE Heavyweight World Championship bout: Brandon Vera defeats Mauro Cerilli by Knockout (KO) at 1:04 minutes of round 1
ONE Lightweight World Championship bout: Eduard Folayang defeats Amir Khan by Unanimous Decision (UD) after 5 rounds
Catch Weight bout (79.0kgs): Honorio Banario defeats Rahul Raju by Unanimous Decision (UD) after 3 rounds
ONE Super Series Muay Thai Bantamweight bout: Saemapetch Fairtex defeats Alaverdi Ramazanov by Unanimous Decision (UD) after 3 rounds
Welterweight bout: James Nakashima defeats Raimond Magomedaliev by Unanimous Decision (UD) after 3 rounds
ONE Super Series Kickboxing Bantamweight bout: Hiroaki Suzuki defeats Deividas Danyla by Unanimous Decision (UD) after 3 rounds
ONE Super Series Kickboxing Catch Weight bout (73.0kgs): Samy Sana defeats Armen Petrosyan by Unanimous Decision (UD) after 3 rounds
Heavyweight bout: Alexandre Machado defeats Hideki Sekine by TKO  at 1:44 minutes of round 2
ONE Super Series Muay Thai Bantamweight bout: Han Zi Hao defeats Azwan Che Wil by TKO (Referee Stoppage) at 2:52 minutes of round 1
Strawweight bout: Jeremy Miado defeats Peng Xue Wen by TKO (Strikes) at 0:53 minutes of round 2
Flyweight bout: Akihiro Fujisawa defeats Rockie Bactol by TKO (Strikes) at 4:40 minutes of round 3
Flyweight bout: Rudy Agustian defeats Asraful Islam by Unanimous Decision (UD) after 3 rounds

For more updates on ONE Championship, please visit, follow them on Twitter and Instagram @ONEChampionship, and like their Facebook at 

Congratulations to all mighty warriors! See you all again here in Manila in January 2019!