Congrats Cinemalaya 19 Short Film Finalists

The Cultural Center of the Philippines and the Cinemalaya Foundation Inc. reveal the 10 competing films that will vie for the Best Short Film in this year’s Cinemalaya Philippine Independent Film Festival.

Mike Cabarles
Januar Yap

From 192 submissions, the 10 finalists are: Tong Adlaw Nga Nag-snow Sa Pinas by Joshua Caesar Medroso; HM HM MHM by Sam Villa-Real and Kim Timan; Golden Bells by Kurt Soberano; Hinakdal by Arvin Belarmino; Kokuryo: The Untold Story of Bb. Undas 2019 by Diokko Manuel Dionisio; Ang Kining Binalaybay kag Ambahanon ko para sa imo by Kent John Desamparado; Maudi Nga Arapaap (Last Dream) by Daniel James Magayon; Makoko Sa Baybay by Mike Cabarles; Sibuyas Ni Perfecto (Perfecto’s Onion) by Januar Yap; and Sota by Mae Tanagon.

Mae Tanagon
Arvin Belarmino
Jishua Caesar Medroso

The competing short films tackle a myriad of human stories, including zombie tale, family adventure, coming-of-age chronicles, LGBT narrative, and a documentary on horse caretakers, showcasing different techniques and approaches.

Kent John Desamparado
Kim Timan

The 10 competing short films will be screened during the Cinemalaya Philippine Independent Film Festival, slated on August 4 to 13, 2023, at the Philippine International Convention Center (PICC) located inside the CCP Complex in Pasay City.

Daniel Magayon
Sam Villa-Real

The best short feature film will be awarded a cash prize amounting to Php150,000 and a Balanghai trophy during the Cinemalaya Awards Night on August 13.

Kurt Soberano

Now in its 19th year, the Cinemalaya is an all-digital film competition that aims to discover, encourage, and support the cinematic works of Filipino filmmakers that boldly articulate and freely interpret the Filipino experience with fresh insight and artistic integrity.

Congrats to all of this year’s Cinemalaya Shorts directors!