The 11th Cinema One Originals Festival Winners Were Truly #Kakaiba

cinema-one2I love independent films.

With that said, I am a Cinema One Originals supporter for a good number of years now. And year after year the movie selections have been getting better and better. Much has also been expected for our independent films and its brilliant filmmakers. For this year, I have managed to watch and support dear friends who starred in Baka Siguro Yata, Dahling Nick, Miss Bulalacao, Mga Rebeldeng May Kaso and Manang Biring.

Just recently the 11th Cinema One Originals Awards Night was held at the Dolphy Theater attended by the nine competition films where I am grateful to have graced and covered. It was a thrill meeting the directors behind their films moreso mingling and chatting with its stars and leads. I had the pleasure chatting with Lance Raymundo, Mon Confiado, Direk Carl Joseph Papa, Earl Ignacio, Raymond Bagatsing, Direk Ara Chawdhury, Dino Pastrano, Ms Erlina Villalobos and Direk Jerrold Tarog. I asked Direk Jerrold when more or less his follow up Heneral Del Pilar be shown?

“Medyo matagal pa iyon. Mga 2017 pa siguro.” he shared.

Congratulations to the 11th Cinema One Originals 2015 Festival Winners:

Audience Choice Award: Joel Ferrer’s “Baka Siguro Yata”
Champion Bughaw Award: Carl Joseph Papa’s “Manang Biring”

Best Sound: “Bukod Kang Pinagpala”
Best Music: “Manang Biring”
Best Production Design: “Bukod Kang Pinagpala”
Best Cinematography: “Dayang Asu”
Best Screenplay: “Miss Bulalacao”
Best Supporting Actress: Chai Fonacier (“Miss Bulalacao”)
Best Supporting Actor: Bor Lentejas (“Hamog”)
Best Actress: Therese Malvar (“Hamog”)
Best Actor: Dino Pastrano (“Baka Siguro Yata”)
Jury Award: “Hamog”
Best Film: “Manang Biring”

The Philippine Cinema Originals honors were  awarded to Rox Lee, Joey Agbayani, Mike and Johnny Alcazaren, Nick De Ocampo and Raymond Red. These men are the inspiration of upcoming directors and they keep on pushing the tab for indie film’s tabs for quality and innovation.

You did it again for this year, Cinema One Channel Head, Mr Ronald Arguelles. Congrats to you and your team plus other sponsors. We’re so looking forward to next year!

c1HamogUnexpected Best Supporting Actor  winner Bor Lentejas of Hamog accepts his first ever acting award trophy.
c1TerePromising Best Actress awardee Therese Malvar did not expect she would win since she was pitted with veteran and seasoned actresses.
c1DinoWhat a lucky guy you are Best Actor Dino Marco Pastrano. Hooray for a fantastic job on Baka Siguro Yata. 
c1Dahling - Copy

With Dahling Nick star Raymond Bagatsing. What a dahling guy indeed! 12219448_1190334154313376_5693362946225297124_n (1)

So happy and proud of you Direk Carl Joseph Papa and Ms Erlinda Villalobos for Best Film Manang Biring. 
C1direkJerrold - Copy