12 New and Raw Plays for Virgin LabFest 19 Announced

After its successful run for 2023, the Virgin Labfest announces the selected one-act plays for its 19th edition.

The 12 new plays which will be staged in 2024 are:  Sentenaryo by Herlyn Alegre; Vengeance of the Gods by Hans Pieter Arao; Si Hesus naa sa US by Neil Azcuna; Ningas by Lino Balmes; Ang Munting Liwanag sa Madilim na Sulok ng Isang Serbeserya sa Maynila by Dustin Celestino; The Foxtrot by Chesie Galvez-Cariño; The Divine Family by Dip Mariposque; Love on the Brain by Rick Patriarca; Sa Babaeng Lahat by Elise Santos; Pagkapit sa Hangin by Joshua Lim So; Identité by Jhudiel Clare Sosa; and Abo-Kaykay Ang Ikalawang Yugto by Ara Jenika Vinzon.

The 12 untried, untested and unstaged plays were selected from the 145 submissions received early this year. The selection committee was composed of festival directors Tess Jamias and Marco Viaña, together with VLF founders Writers Bloc Inc’s Rody Vera and director-playwright Herbie Go.

Three plays from the 18th edition will be revisited on its 2024 run, namely Zheg Arban’s Room 209, directed by Delphine Buencamino; Andrew Estacio’s Ang Awit ng Dalagang Marmol, directed by Nazer Degayo Salcedo; and Dingdong Novenario’s Dominador Gonzales, National Artist, directed by George de Jesus III.

Stay updated by following the CCP’s official social media accounts. Visit our website (www.culturalcenter.gov.ph) for tickets and inquiries.

Congrats Team VLF 18 HITIK!