Sinag Maynila 2016 Gabi ng Parangal Winners

actorsIt was a simple but memorable Gabi ng Parangal for the 2nd Sinag Maynila 2016 Independent Film Festival held at the Samsung Hall of SM Aura in BGC, Taguig last Sunday April 24.

The indie film festival which opened last April 21 held Gala Premieres of all five featured films which I was able to cover and attend. I felt happy and proud for the cast and directors with whom some happens to be good friends.

I asked Direk Adolf Alix Jr. during the gala premiere for MRS what does he think are the chances of his film winning during the Awards Night?

“I leave it to the judges. Bahala na sila.”  he responds. Deep inside I felt Direk Adolf’s MRS could bring home major awards as attested to his previous citations at other independent film festivals.

During the opening ceremonies, I had a cool chat with actor-friend Alvin Anson who was nominated for Best Actor alongside co-lead Aljur Abrenica. I also asked Direk Ato Bautista the same question.

“Acting award! Manalo lang si Aljur or si Alvin, masaya na ako,” was his positive statement. After watching Expressway, I really liked its Musical Scoring and informed Direk Ato about it which he attributed to the genius of Francis De Veyra.
And so the Sinag Maynila 2016 trophies were handed out, and I am satisfied of the honor roll including the Shorts and Cinefone categories. Woot!  Also proud for Direk Gino Santos his debut horror flick took home an award and bagged the SM People’s Choice award for LILA.
lilaCongratulations to all the Full Length Winners:

Best FILM –  MRS
Best DIRECTOR – Adolfo Alix Jr. for MRS
Best ACTOR – Alvin Anson for Expressway
Best ACTRESS – Elizabeth Oropesa for MRS
Best SOUND – Drew Millalos for TPO
Best MUSICAL SCORE – Francis De Veyra for Expressway
Best EDITING – Benjamin Tolentino for Expressway
Best CINEMATOGRAPHY – Albert Banzon for MRS
Best PRODUCTION DESIGN – Marielle Hizon for LILA
Best SCREENPLAY – Joselito Altarejos and Archie del Mundo for TPO
BLINK Box Office Award – LILA
SM People’s Choice Award – LILA

Short Film Awardees:
Grand Winner: Apuhap by Raphael Evangelista

Ang Kapinunan Kan mga Alon sa Danay by Jennifer Lyn Romano
The Foreseeing by Daniel Morial and Jeth Ordeniza

Cinephone Awardees:

1st Place: 99% by John Barcena

2nd Place: Litrato ng Nakaraanby Angelika Deofilo, Danilo Garcia and Samantha Mariano

3rd PlaceEspayb by Ebone Cimafranca, Jacquiline Hidalgo, Jessica Rubete and Juselle Roble

You can still catch these great indie films until tomorrow April 26, 2016 at SM North Edsa, SM Aura Premiere, SM Megamall, SM Manila and SM Mall of Asia. Kudos Sir Wilson Chieng, Direk Brillante Mendoza and all the jurors!

Let’s all support Local…Let’s all support our Indie Films.

What's Your Reaction?

Wakeke Wakeke
Aww :( Aww :(
Aww :(
AMP#*@! AMP#*@!
Nyeam! Nyeam!