Gawad Urian the 40th – List of Nominees and Watch it on July the 20th!

The Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino has announced the nominees for the country’s much-awaited film award recognition, the 40th Gawad Urian, happening on July 20 at ABS-CBN’s Studio 10 and will be airing live on Cinema One.

Here is the list of nominees.

Best Picture

Pamilya Ordinaryo


Ang Babaeng Humayo

Women of the Weeping River


Baboy Halas

Best Director

Brilliante Mendoza, Ma’ Rosa
Eduardo W. Roy, Jr., Pamilya Ordinaryo
Zig Madamba Dulay, Paglipay
Lav Diaz, Ang Babaeng Humayo
Bagane Fiola, Baboy Halas
Paolo Villaluna, Pauwi Na
Avid Liongoren, Saving Sally
Sheron Dayoc, Women of the Weeping River
Lemuel Lorca, Ned’s Project

Best Actor

Tommy Abuel, Dagsin
Bembol Roco, Pauwi Na
Garry Cabalic, Paglipay
Khalil Ramos, 2 Cool 2 Be 4gotten
Paolo Ballesteros, Die Beautiful
Ronwaldo Martin, Pamilya Ordinaryo
Pepe Smith, Singing in Graveyards


Here is the list of nominees.

This list will be updated as more nominees are announced.

Best Picture

  • Pamilya Ordinaryo
  • Paglipay
  • Ang Babaeng Humayo
  • Women of the Weeping River
  • Ma’Rosa
  • Baboy Halas

Best Director

  • Brilliante MendozaMa’ Rosa
  • Eduardo W. Roy, Jr., Pamilya Ordinaryo
  • Zig Madamba DulayPaglipay
  • Lav DiazAng Babaeng Humayo
  • Bagane FiolaBaboy Halas
  • Paolo VillalunaPauwi Na
  • Avid LiongorenSaving Sally
  • Sheron DayocWomen of the Weeping River
  • Lemuel LorcaNed’s Project

Best Actor

  • Tommy AbuelDagsin
  • Bembol RocoPauwi Na
  • Garry CabalicPaglipay
  • Khalil Ramos2 Cool 2 Be 4gotten
  • Paolo BallesterosDie Beautiful
  • Ronwaldo MartinPamilya Ordinaryo
  • Pepe SmithSinging in Graveyards

Best Actress

  • Nora AunorHinulid
  • Laila Ulao, Women of the Weeping River
  • Jaclyn JoseMa Rosa
  • Cherry Pie PicachePauwi Na
  • Ai Ai delas Alas, Area
  • Charo SantosAng Babaeng Humayo
  • Elizabeth OropesaMRS
  • Irma AdlawanORO
  • Hasmine Kilip, Pamilya Ordinaryo
  • Angeli BayaniNed’s Project

Supporting Actor

  • Taha DarandaWomen of the Weeping River
  • Christian Bables, Die Beautiful
  • Jess MendozaHinulid
  • John Lloyd CruzAng Babaeng Humayo
  • Nonie Buencamino, Ang Babaeng Humayo
  • Julio DiazMa Rosa

Supporting Actress

  • Rhed BustamanteSeklusyon
  • Barbie FortezaTuos
  • Sharifa Pearlsia Ali-DansWomen of the Weeping River
  • Anna LunaPaglipay
  • Joan Dela CruzPaglipay
  • Lui ManansalaNed’s Project
  • Lotlot de LeonMRS
  • Meryll SorianoPauwi Na
  • Janine Gutierrez, Dagsin
  • Mariam Zimadar Haji Caranay Raper – Women of the Weeping River


  • Ned’s ProjectJohn Bedia
  • Pauwi NaPaolo Villaluna and Ellen Ramos
  • Women of the Weeping River, Sheron Dayoc
  • Paglipay, Zig Madamba Dulay
  • Ma Rosa, Troy Espiritu
  • Patay na si Jesus, Fatrick Tabada
  • Ang Babaeng Humayo, Lav Diaz
  • Pamilya Ordinaryo, Eduardo Roy, Jr.


  • Women of the Weeping River, Rommel Sales
  • Ang Babaeng Humayo, Lav Diaz
  • Ma Rosa, Odyssey Flores
  • Paglipay, Albert Banzon
  • Pamilya Ordinaryo, Albert Banzon
  • Baboy Halas, Raphael Meting & Mark Limbaga
  • Tuos, Mycko David

Production Design

  • Ma Rosa, Dante Mendoza
  • Die Beautiful, Angel Diesta
  • Ned’s Project, John Paul Sapitula
  • Women of the Weeping River, Harley Alcasid
  • Pamilya Ordinaryo, Harley Alcasid
  • Paglipay, Aped Santos
  • Saving Sally, Erik Manalo & Rommel Laquian
  • Hinulid, Ryan Cuatrona & Celine Belino
  • Baboy Halas, Joel Geolamen


  • Women of the Weeping River, Carlo Francisco Manatad
  • Ma Rosa, Diego Marx Dobles
  • Pauwi Na, Ellen Ramo & Paolo Villaluna
  • Ang Babaeng Humayo, Lav Diaz
  • Pamilya Ordinaryo, Carlo Francisco Manatad
  • Paglipay, Zig Madamba Dulay
  • Die Beautiful, Benjamin Gonzales Tolentino


  • Paglipay, Gian Gianan
  • Women of the Weeping River, Kit Mendoza
  • Saving Sally, Pablo Pico
  • Pauwi Na, Pike Ramirez, Paolo Villaluna & Veena Ramirez
  • Tuos, Jema Pamintuan


  • Hinulid, Mark Laccay
  • Women of the Weeping River, Albert Michael Idioma & Immanuel Verona
  • Ang Babaeng Humayo, Corinne De San Jose, Mark Locsin & Che Villanueva
  • Pamilya Ordinaryo, Albert Michael Idioma & Emmanuel Verona
  • Ma Rosa, Albert Michael Idioma
  • Paglipay, Andrew Milallos
  • Baboy Halas, Willie Apa, Jr. & Charlie Daclan

Natatanging Gawad Urian: Vilma Santos-Recto

(short clip with some nominees announced during the press conference)

Other categories in this annual film recognition include Best Screenplay, Best Production Design, Best Editing, Best Cinematography, Best Music, Best Sound, Best Short Film and Best Documentary.

This year marks Gawad Urian’s 40th year in the industry. Since its first ever awarding ceremony held in 1977, it has become one of the most prestigious and most respected film awards in the country.

The nominees and winners are chosen by the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino composed of reputable pillars in Philippine cinema led by its president Rolando Tolentino together with members Grace Javier Alfonso, Butch Francisco, Mario Hernando, Bienvenido Lumbera, Miguel Rapatan, Benilda Santos, Dr. Nicanor Tiongson, Tito Genova Valiente and Lito Zulueta.

Catch the 40th Gawad Urian on Cinema One (SkyCable ch. 56, Destiny Cable Digital Channel 56, and Destiny Analog Ch. 37) on July 20 at 9 p.m.

What's Your Reaction?

Wakeke Wakeke
Aww :( Aww :(
Aww :(
AMP#*@! AMP#*@!
Nyeam! Nyeam!